Helping You Buy, Build, or Renovate Your Home

Contact Us join today!

Our Members Speak

November 17, 2016

Why GVHBA?

In early 1980 I opened Eneready Products Ltd beginning as a sole proprietor. By 1982, after nearly loosing my shirt weathering a perfect storm of near zero housing starts, less than zero public awareness on ventilation and inadequate background in the home building industry I re-met Hugo Becker. As a long time Chilliwack biker friend and by then a builder member of Alberta CHBA, he suggested I needed business guidance. He urged me to join the Home Builders’ Association. Although I could ill afford another expense, I joined GVHBA at the very time when many established builder members with unsold properties were also loosing their shirts and to a lesser degree so were their subtrades.
 
This ‘join’ advice proved timely and an important step to improving my technical and business skills. Through general membership and especially participation in the Tech Committee I met four great kindred spirits who were influential to me, Bill Strain, Neil Ziola, Cathy Gissing and Ralph Moore. At these informal pizza discussions, I was warmly welcomed. I felt at home, listened carefully and learned quickly. I was hooked. Later on hearing life member Al Koehli speak at a regular New Westminster GVHBA dinner meeting I found in this unique individual a very patient tutor and soon to be new friend. Again through membership I met Joe Lstiburek, originally the research director of CHBA National, now an internationally respected Principle of Building Science Corp, Boston. Another now life long friend. Soon after I met other CHBA national figures such as Keith Hansen and Bill Small the original champions of the then fledgling R-2000 program. Later again, in 1986, I met member Mark Gauvin the key driver behind Vancouver’s Test House, the private research project to investigate the real causes of building leakage.
 
As of May 31, ’16, with 33 years of GVHBA membership certificates hanging on our wall, we have just completed our biggest sales year ever and have achieved our goal as the dominant supplier of custom residential ventilation equipment in BC. There is no question that the seasoned mentors from GVHVA exposed me to some awesome formal and informal learning opportunities. Further the Association provided great cooperative promotional opportunities which also contributed to our company’s success. 
 
Was membership and involvement with GVHBA worth our time and money?
 
Unquestionably yes! And p.s., thank you Wendy McNeil for your help over the years promoting and organizing ‘What’s New In Home Building’ public seminars. In my mind, your effort certainly qualified as coop’ing at it finest.
 
David A. Hill
President

May 27, 2016

Breakthrough Academy:

We have been with the GVHBA for 1 year now and have found it to be one of the best decisions our company has made. We feel like we were welcomed in with open arms into a family environment with like-minded business we can trust. 30% of our business now comes from our connections at the GVHBA and we are now feeling like we have the support and community to take our business to the next level. I attribute the success of the GVHBA to the professionalism and action orientation of the staff.  Thanks for bringing us in and we look forward to a lasting relationship with you and the members. 
 
Danny Kerr
Managing Partner 
Breakthrough Academy

March 11, 2016

Ridgewater Homes:

To Renée and the GVHBA Staff,

 
Since joining the GVHBA over 3 years ago, the staff at Ridgewater Homes Ltd. has found its membership to the GVHBA an invaluable asset for our company.  As a professional builder and renovator, this has produced many positive benefits for Ridgewater. 
 
There are many events for networking so that gives us the opportunity to get to know suppliers, consultants, sub trades and other Builders & Renovators. The Contact directory is a valuable resource that we refer to when choosing our sub trades.  We call it our construction trades bible.
 
At Ridgewater we strive to be one of the best General Contractors within our industry. Our work includes custom builds, renovations, heritage restoration and commercial projects. We have achieved this by employing some of the best talent within their fields of expertise. To date, this is evident in our completed projects and our clients’ testimonials. Our team is committed to professionalism, quality work, ethical practices as well as keeping current within their industries. The GVHBA logo is a  brand that shows professionalism, integrity and trust. Consumers recognize and trust the GVHBA logo.  
 
It’s our hope that the GVHBA is what separates  the legitimate contractors with business licences from the underground economy of renovators who avoid paying taxes and operate "fly-by-night" and "cash only" businesses with no warranties. 
 
Ridgewater combines decades of experience and a personal commitment to quality and professionalism. This is why we would highly recommend the GVHBA and are glad to be a part of the association.
 
Sincerely,
 
Daryl Berden
Owner

February 3, 2016

Alair Homes Vancouver:

http://www.gvhba.org/testimonials#BTA

Hello Renée and GVHBA Staff,

Since joining the GVHBA, Alair Homes has been extremely well served by the association and staff. GVHBA helps us Build Influence with other members and our clients. It is a prestigious membership that also has weight with training initiatives, lobby power and industry awards and recognition. 
 
We think that GVHBA is a must for any builder, renovator or industry supplier and trade that wants to grow and improve their business. Thanks for everything,
 
David Babakaiff
Alair Homes  

September 15, 2015

Longhouse Specialty Forest Products:

Hello Renée, and staff at Greater Vancouver Home Builders' Association.

It is my pleasure to say our decision to recently join GVHBA has been the best marketing money we have spent in 30 years in business. To all your staff and organizers of the Fall Classic Golf Tournament Wednesday September 9, 2015, I give you all, a standing ovation!!

Best regards and thanks so much,

Brian Jenkins


June 12, 2015

Martin Knowles Photo/Media:

"The bulk of my business comes from fellow GVHBA members, and every year, my membership pays for itself--usually by February".

Martin Knowles, owner/photographer, Martin Knowles Photo/Media


June 16, 2014

Duradek:

The Greater Vancouver Home Builders Association (GVHBA) announced their new members last week and Duradek is very proud to now officially be a part of this excellent building industry organization. The GVHBA is an extremely valuable resource for both industry professionals and consumers looking for advice on buying, building or renovating a home.

The joining of Duradek with this association was a perfect fit for both Duradek and the GVHBA as both organizations place a high value on quality products and professional installation, reviewing and re-examining best practices for adapting to changes within the industry, and giving back to their community with charitable programs. In addition, both Duradek and GVHBA are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, so they have in effect grown up together in Vancouver’s building industry and seen a lot of changes in how things are done since 1974!

With today’s vast number of available building products (and uncharted number of opinions and information on both products and professionals) from a myriad of sources, professional industry associations like the GVHBA are an invaluable tool for information you can trust. With a screening process for membership and a published code of ethics for member conduct in their profession, when you are looking for a building industry professional or product you can trust, you can feel confident that those who are members of respected professional organizations like the GVHBA are some of the best in their field.

It is not simply becoming GVHBA members that sets building industry professionals apart in their professions; the information and opportunities available to members helps them to maintain a knowledge on current building codes, best practices in real-world applications and an chance to showcase their best work to their peers and potential customers.

For consumers, the GVHBA and Duradek are both regular exhibitors at the BC Home and Garden Show in February and the Vancouver Home and Design show in October with both shows taking place at BC Place Stadium.

Another great GVHBA initiative for consumers is the Parade of Renovated Homes. Parade of Renovated Homes provides home owners with almost limitless renovation inspiration. With 22 homes participating, there is an incredible range of interior design trends and materials, advanced construction techniques, energy-saving features and so much more to see in just one day. The event takes place on June 8th, 2014 between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. and you can get more details on the GVHBA events calendar.

For building industry professionals, the GVHBA hosts a range of networking and education events, industry awards and opportunity to participate in committees that help shape the future on the industry. And of course, a number of purely fun events like their annual Fall Golf Classic or their excellent 70s themed 40th Anniversary celebration!

So whether you are a building professional looking for the perfect product to solve your deck or roof deck challenges, or you are investigating options for your own home renovation or building plans, consider Duradek for your deck waterproofing and railing needs.


June 4, 2014

Associa’s BayWest Management:

Baywest Management Corp Supports Greater Vancouver Home Builders Association

“Being able to network with countless professionals throughout the construction industry is invaluable.”

VANCOUVER, British Columbia--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Baywest Management Corp, an Associa company, took part in the Greater Vancouver Home Builders Association (GVHBA)’s ninth annual Trade Expo on May 7 at the Coquitlam Hard Rock Theater.

Becoming a member of Greater Vancouver Home Builders Association has opened new doors for us,” says Baywest President and CEO Janice Pynn. “Being able to network with countless professionals throughout the construction industry is invaluable.”

Baywest Management Corp’s Regional Director of Marketing & Business Development Joanna Alexander represented the company at the information booth.

The Greater Vancouver Home Builders Association is affiliated with the Canadian Home Builders' Association at both the provincial and national levels. Established in 1974, it is the largest of the 10 local associations in British Columbia with more than 700 members.

Associa’s Baywest Management Corporation is western Canada’s leading property management company. With offices in Vancouver, Surrey and Kelowna, Baywest offers inspired management to stratas, co-ops and rental buildings. In addition, Baywest’s marketing group and specialized New Construction Team work with a large network of developers in the fast-growing Vancouver area. The three strongest components in a Baywest strata manager’s toolkit are a comprehensive 5-point game plan for each client, 24/7 web access for each strata through mybaywest and a solid accounting department. To become an Associa Baywest client, request a quote at www.baywest.ca.

Building successful communities for 35 years, Associa is North America’s largest community association management firm and serves its clients with local knowledge, national resources and comprehensive expertise. Based in Dallas, Associa and its 8,000 employees operate more than 150 branch offices in the United States, Mexico and Canada. To learn more about Associa and its charitable organization, Associa Cares, go to www.associaonline.com and www.associacares.com.


February 14, 2014

Clay Construction:

Since joining the GVHBA nearly 10 years ago, the staff at Clay Construction have been extremely well served by the association, staff, and committees.  There are ample events for networking so that we have the opportunity to get to know other suppliers, consultants and sub trades.  Monthly seminars provide professional development opportunities in areas of technical expertise and business development.  The Contact directory is a valuable resource that we refer to when choosing a professional like minded contractor.  We have received multiple inquiries from potential clients who started first with our association when looking for a quality, professional custom home builder.  The Member’s Expo is one of my favourite events of the year. 

 

The GVHBA provides strong leadership.  GVHBA leaders are often in the news and you find their consistent presence in the media.  They support reputable contractors, suppliers, and builders and speak against those contractors and business practices that negatively affects the home building industry.  The GVHBA logo is a badge of professionalism, integrity and trust and differentiates us from those without it. Consumers recognize and trust the GVHBA logo.  Our association members have dominated the Georgies which attests to our quality and exceptionally high standards.

I would highly recommend the GVHBA for builders, renovators, suppliers or sub trades looking for professional development, networking and support.  Although our needs are different, there is value for all. 

Larry Clay


November 13, 2013

Monarch Floor & Window Coverings:

To Whom it may concern;

We have been members for over 5 years now and have received a ton of value out of our membership.  We originally joined in 2008 as a way to grow our business through making contacts with contractors.  What we discovered was a whole lot more than that.  Since then we have gotten involved in everything from training seminars to charity projects.  As the economy cooled off from its frantic pace the GVHBA became more and more important to our business and now accounts for over 50% of the sales that we do.  The business we get from the association is also the “right” kind of business with contractors and builders who are driven to build quality projects and treat their suppliers and sub trades fairly.

I would highly recommend the GVHBA for anyone who is looking to associate their business with professional contractors and builders.

Matt Robinson
Monarch Floor and Window Coverings
#200 – 4363 Dawson st
Burnaby, BC
V5C 4B4
Office: 604-253-1072
Cell: 604-626-5341
Fax: 604-253-1073


October 16, 2013

Dear Greater Vancouver Home Builder Association,
 
In 2005 I started Green Sheet Construction Data and I had very little knowledge of the industry, had never worked in sales and was nervous about joining the industry. When I joined the GVHBA the membership was viewed as huge expense for where I was during that time.  After nearly 8 years of GVHBA Membership I really cannot imagine had I not gone with my gut on this decision.  It was life changing for me.  It took a year of attending everything, but that year paid off. 
 
I really cannot stress enough about the positive benefits that the GVHBA has had on my business.  I have never been to an event and not been able to take something from it.  Whether it has been meeting a new contact, just observing the best of the best, having a means to connect with our clients on a more personal level or having myself or staff hire a GVHBA professional for our own needs, there has always been a benefit.  Probably the number one thing that I take from the GVHBA is the motivation that it provides me to succeed.  It gives my team and I great confidence knowing we have the opportunity to work with the best of the best and the most honest of the honest. 
 
After having worked with an abundant number GVHBA members the Green Sheet to date has never had a problem with any of them and how they conduct business.  Great companies gravitate to the GVHBA and I am very thankful for the integrity that the GVHBA instills in its members.  My staff all wants the GVHBA Applications List because they all know it’s always the list of leads with the straightest shooters. 
 
If there was an industry award that went to the most reliable, dedicated, integral, facilitating organization the GVHBA would have won it every year.  There is no other residential organization in BC that comes close to what the GVHBA offers their members. 
 
Here is the quote that my personal trainer wrote on the wall in front of my treadmill: “I didn’t say it would be easy, I said it would be worth it”.  To translate this to how I see the GVHBA it would be to say: “I didn’t say it wouldn’t take time and effort, I said it would be worth it”. 
 
Thank you GVHBA for facilitating so many great opportunities to spend time with great people in the industry. 
 
Simone Sunderland
President
 

September 13, 2013

Bob,
 
I wish to express my sincere thanks to the GVHBA for the golf tournament that I attended with my customers and a colleague  on Wednesday September 11 at Northview.
 
Our group last year had so much fun we decided that we would play again as the same foursome this year and we managed to top it and have even more fun this year. So in keeping with our tradition we have committed to each other to play again together next year and tentatively pencil it in on our calendar.
 
This event is so well done from the minute you check in to the end of the night that it needs to be acknowledged to the many volunteers who put the effort in to make it all come together.
 
The prizes and the giveaways were fantastic (especially love the Bluetooth speaker).
 
Thanks to Pinder, Renée, Wendy, Larraine and all the member volunteers - it was the best golf tournament of the year.
 
In speaking with everyone last night there wasn’t  any complaints from anyone rather praise and appreciation.
 
I am happy to sponsor the tee boxes on both courses and I know I get great exposure and my money’s worth every year.
 
Thanks again,
 
Regards,
Jeff Lea


March 20, 2013

Alchemy Construction joined the GVHBA in 2011 because we felt that the organization upheld the same values and standards that we had built our business on. It is our goal to build a reputation as a reliable, professional company, where we put our customers first. GVHBA has proved over and over again, that they too, support their customers, both members and the consumer.

Our team has attended as many of the events, seminars and roundtables as possible, and look forward to participating in more in the future. We entered the industry award programs and were thrilled to be recognized for one of our projects.

It’s a real asset to our company to be part of such a professional organization.

Sincerely,

Mark Isaac
Alchemy Construction Ltd.


June 15, 2012

To Anyone Thinking of Joining the Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association:

Becoming a member of the GVHBA in 2007 was a great thing to do! As a professional builder and renovator, this one action has produced innumerable positive benefits for my company.

With the association, I can offer my staff industry training and education.

For myself, I am able to meet my peers and we can share our knowledge with one another. We may be competitors but there is a camaraderie shared by us that can’t be found elsewhere.

Moreover, I want to thank the GVHBA for introducing the Ovation awards. This local program has really helped me to market my company to the public and has given Best Builders some great advertising and spin-off marketing opportunities.

Best regards,
Todd Best, Best Builders Ltd.


December 14, 2011

12 December 2011
 
To: The GVHBA
 
Since joining on in 2005 Econ Group has found its membership to the GVHBA an invaluable asset for our company.
 
A true advocate within the home building industry, the Association’s presence is felt both on a day-to-day level (through its numerous learning, training and networking opportunities) and within higher-level dialogue pertaining to systemic trends and shifts.
 
Truthfully, there is not a Monday Morning Briefing or a Housing Starts email that I, and all the administrative staff of Econ Group, do not read immediately. The information that the GVHBA provides us in a consolidated format saves us time. As any Principal of a busy design/build office can attest, my spare moments are few and far between. Instead of needing to pore through myriad resources, the GVHBA provides me trustworthy snapshots of the big picture.
 
The Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association raises professionalism and accountability in our industry, standing at the forefront as a proactive voice within local and regional challenges as they arise. The entire Econ team wishes to thank you for your tireless work within our field.
 
Kind regards,
 
Mike Dutson
Principal, Econ Group Construction + Development Ltd.


November 1, 2011

To: The Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association

Attn: Renée Auer

The My House Team has found invaluable benefit in membership with the Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association. Their constant support in all areas of education, resource, networking, referral and marketing keep us on top of the local Renovation andHousing industry.

Keeping us up to date with Seminars, Workshops & Talks; hearing from renowned industry speakers on recent/relevant topics and trends; there is always something new and exciting being offered by the dynamic group of people that make up the staff and directors of the GVHBA. These people are a constant pleasure to work with & will always go the extra mile to help their members. From visiting the association’s office to attending meetings and events, as a member, you are greeted with warmth from administration and fellow members; and as a member of the consumer public you are handled with the utmost competence and professionalism.

A key benefit of being a member of this group is that there is guaranteed to be someone within the association that is an expert on whatever your query, and governing members work to help you find that perfect fit. The standard that is set by the RenoMark program lends to our team constantly striving to reach higher; and for consumers it gives confidence and peace of mind that they have chosen to work with professionals. We are proud to display the professional stamp of the GVHBA and value our membership, the resulting relationships & support that we receive from this top notch association and its people.

With Sincerity,
The My House Design/Build Team
Roz Screeton, Marketing Manager


February 8, 2011

As a professional renovator myself, I am pleased to be a member of an organization that offers RenoMark, a national program whose structure provides a level of confidence to homeowners and compels member renovators to abide by a 10-condition code of conduct, including offering written contracts, safety compliance, liability insurance and warranties.

For members, GVHBA offers numerous networking and marketing opportunities, technical and green-building updates, design trends, consumer preferences, community planning initiatives, economic outlooks, education and training, and analysis of and reaction to local, regional, provincial and federal government policy.

I can’t say enough about the GVHBA staff, and the dedicated volunteers who serve on the Board of Directors, various committees, councils and task forces. This combined team, recognized nationally for its excellence, works diligently for the residential construction industry, for the association, for consumers, and for many community and charitable organizations throughout Metro Vancouver.

Todd Senft, Owner


February 1, 2011

“Joining the Greater Vancouver Home Builders was one of the smartest business decisions we ever made.  Membership gave us direct contact to our primary clientele through the numerous networking events, thus developing many lasting relationships with members of the GVHBA. We are very proud to support and work with the builders that make a difference in the industry.”

Tim Killey, Owner


May 28, 2010

The GVHBA website has been an excellent source of qualified traffic to ours. It is currently our third most popular referring site.

Troy Abromaitis - Wallmark Homes Ltd.


June 1, 2009

GREATER VANCOUVER HOME BUILDERS' ASSOCIATION #2O3, 15463 - 104 Avenue Surrey BC V3R 1N9
Attention: Mr. Peter Simpson - CEO

Dear Peter:

l'm writing today to personally thank you and the GVHBA for helping me become a Professional Homebuilder. Twenty five years ago, l joined the GVHBA on the advice of Walt Scott,a "Builder's Builder". He told me to join the GVHBA if I wanted any chance at success. Since 1984 I've helped build over 3,000 homes for BC families, an achievement l'm very proud of it.

I would not be writing this letter today if I had not received the education, advice, encouragement and fellowship that I received over the years as a member of the GVHBA.

I encourage anyone who truly wants to make homebuilding a career to join the GVHBA. It will change your life as it did mine.

Respectfully yours,
MORNINGSTAR HOMES LTD.
Dale Barron
President


May 29, 2009

We have been members of the GVHBA for 12 years. As builders, some of the greatest benefits to us have been exposure to new products and trades, learning new ideas through networking with colleagues and suppliers and keeping current with new concepts and code changes.

The benefit for supplier & sub-trade members would be the ability to network and showcase their product or service to new potential clients. There are many different committees that can help you with business challenges as well.

Remember the more you get involved, the more it will help your business.

Robert Grimm
Portrait Homes Ltd.


May 28, 2009

The Greater Vancouver Home Builders' Association provides Mitsui Homes Canada with a wealth of information about the developing construction trends and technology innovations, as well as connecting our key personnel with some of the most influential and knowledgeable people in the industry. Many of our customers and suppliers are also GVHBA members and it’s an added pleasure when we cross paths at GVHBA events.

Dave Fisher
Mitsui Homes Canada


May 28, 2009

Greater Vancouver Home Builders' Association
# 203-15463-104 Avenue
Surrey, BC V3R 1N9
Ph: (604) 588-5036 Fax: (604) 588-5037

To Renée Auer, Director of Membership & Sales:

We at Basement Systems Vancouver Inc. wish to express how the Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association has helped our business to become the top referred waterproofing company in the Lower Mainland. The excellent reputation that the GVHBA maintains in our industry is shared by all the members and lends considerable credibility when conducting business with companies in the building industry. We have seen Basement Systems Vancouver grow seven fold in size since joining the GVHBA. The professional manner in which the members conduct their business is a main reason we choose to do business inside the GVHBA realm. The GVHBA staff is hard-working, proficient and very pleasant to deal with, whether it’s a simple request or a more in depth request for help in dealing with a municipality.

Our customers tell us that they have researched our professional affiliations and they have referenced the GVHBA as a credible and above-board organization. This translates into trust for my account representatives and ultimately leads to increased contracts and sales for my company. A great ongoing benefit of joining the GVHBA is the opportunity to gain access to industry-leading dinner meeting speakers, relevant topics and forecasting trends. We often know what’s happening or going to happen months before the media! The educational aspect of the GVHBA was instrumental in allowing our company to present and discuss a new product to the members of the Education and Training Committee and the Technical Committee. Since that time, Delta-MS has become the top-rated dampproofing membrane and is now well accepted in the building community.

We participate in the many fine social networking events such as the Annual Golf Tournament and Christmas Party and consider these to be a top notch way to both have fun and meet the people with whom we do business.

In summary, our membership in the GVHBA has more than paid for itself in all forms - from knowledge and credibility to networking and public visibility. We look forward to many years of membership in the GVHBA.

Sincerely,
Rob Currie
Basement Systems Vancouver Inc.